Good morning…glory!

Okay, it’s actually evening here. Almost 7 pm to be precise. But it’s never a bad time to eat a muffin, in my opinion.

As I’ve said, it took me a while to ease into this paleo cooking/baking thing. The ingredients don’t react the same as regular flours and sugars etc and the texture and tastes are a bit altered. I tried a few muffin recipes and they either tasted dry or like nothing at all!

After some research and a wonderful Christmas present from my lovely mother, I discovered Morning Glory Muffins!!

 

Image

 

I own and love the Paleo Comfort Foods Cookbook! Whenever I get a new cookbook, I go through and tag all the recipes I absolutely need to try then flip back through to see what I’ll tackle first. Muffins were the top of my priorities at this point so the discovery of the morning glory muffins was a blessing

The original recipe can be found here courtesy of Julie and Charles Mayfield!

Below is also the original recipe, but with my additions and tips:

2 1/2 cups almond flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups carrots, peeled and grated
1 large apple, peeled, cored and grated
1 cup shredded coconut
1 cup raisins
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons honey (optional)
1/2 cup coconut or olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla

 

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a standard-sized muffin pan.
2. Combine almond flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.  Add carrot, apple, coconut and raisins and combine well.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, honey, oil and vanilla extract together.
4. Pour the wet mixture over the dry ingredients and mix very well. The batter will be very thick.
5. Spoon the batter out into muffin pan and place on upper or middle rack of your oven for 40-50 minutes.
6. When a toothpick inserted into the top of a muffin comes out clean, the muffins are done.
7. Cool muffins in the pan for 8-10 minutes and then remove to a rack to finish cooling.

 

Steph’s tips, tricks, and substitutions:

The first time I made these, I did the recipe as instructed and the batch went well! My mom requests these almost weekly and my boyfriend loves them, too! (Still trying to get my dad fully on board….he’ll do spaghetti squash and cauli-rice, but he’s more of a “real sweets” man)

Anyways. The second time…

  • I subbed diced pear for the apple. Delicious! Nice and juicy! Also feel free to mix up your apple selection, but certain apples don’t bake as well so beware of that choice
  • I decided to forgo the suggested measurements of the fruits and veggies, plus I always pour on the vanilla and cinnamon probably in excess because I love the flavors. I’m more of a “toss is whatever seems right and hope for the best” person. If you’re a beginner in the kitchen, I suggest what my mother always tells me– stick to the recipe!
  • Today’s version went tropical! I used diced peaches, pineapple, and a little of the leftover pineapple juice! 
  • Adding a little orange zest is a nice treat. Feel free to play around with your own add-ins. Dates or another dried fruit might be a nice switch up– but beware of the sugar content of other dried fruits, such as craisins. I stick to raisins and dates, but expand if you want and let me know how it goes!
  • Julie and Charles advise to let the batter sit out on the counter for 30-60 minutes before baking. I always do this and it works for me. I haven’t tried it without letting the batter set, but it was a great tip from them and now from me to you
  • Lastly, I only bake mine for about 25-30 minutes tops. I have a hot oven that doesn’t bake entirely evenly so I set it for 25 and check when that time is up. You can gauge for yourself. Also: beware of burning! Nut flours burn easily so keep an eye out!

 

Hope your muffins come out as delicious as mine did! Happy baking!

 

-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

