See it to believe it

I’ve seen so many posts lately claiming that “paleo” or “healthy” ice cream is the easiest thing on the planet to make. All you need is a food processor or good blender or ice cream maker. And fruit. Preferably bananas, or other fruits combined with coconut milk etc etc similar

Well. I tried it. I’ve been needing a change up for a nighttime snack. Frozen banana pieces are delicious, but I wanted to take it ONE step further…

I figured I would try the most basic recipe first to make sure this super-easy-peasy dessert claim was the real deal

Thanks to Erica over at comfy belly, here’s a recipe for banana ice cream.
Literally. Just. Bananas. Sounds unreal, right? NOPE. IT’S REAL

Image

 

 

 

I honestly thought it was too good to be true, but it’s honestly THAT EASY!
Freeze Bananas. Mix bananas. Eat bananas (I mean, ICE CREAM!)

 

Image

Now that I know this is super easy and super delicious (and this is coming from a girl who wouldn’t touch bananas until about 2 months ago….) I can experiment with different variations!

 

I’ve heard that adding anything from nut butters/other spreads, to chocolate, to nuts, to other fruit, to sweeteners like honey makes for a delicious spin on the simple “ice cream”
Up next for me is to try out this Quick Chunky Monkey Ice Cream from Pennies on a Platter!
Of course, I’ll put my own spin on it– no peanut butter or chocolate for this gal! Almond butter and maybe walnuts or cashews should do the trick!

 

Another staple recipe to add to my books : CHECK!

 

P.S. If you can’t stand or eat bananas (bless you for making it through this post…) there are tons of other easy homemade ice cream recipes out there to try out!
I’ve bookmarked a bunch for future reference and hope to try out a few more so have a go if you’re up for it:

 

Leave a Reply

