Snowed In

For anyone wondering, we got A TON of snow here in New England! Over two feet here where I am. So I’ve basically been snowed in for over 24 hours! Which has actually be great! I can’t complain šŸ˜‰

Image

That’s my poor little car under there! But lots of shoveling and plowing, courtesy of my superdad, and my little guy’s doin just fine!

Spending lots of time inside has led to:

  • Sleep
  • TV
  • Yoga
  • Cooking
  • Reading
  • More yoga and more yoga

When in doubt, work out– right? RIGHT!
So I filled my time and fended off (most of) the cabin fever by keeping busy catching up on some tv and keeping up with my exercise routine and daily yoga. Being stuck inside doesn’t mean I have to be a couch potato!

Being home makes me anxious to do things in the kitchen. I just want to eat and cook and bake and eat and make things! Which is a deadly combination…
But I put my restlessness to good use and cooked up a delicious dinner for my parents and myself to celebrate the snow (and because I love cooking for them and cooking means I know exactly what I’m eating)

I’ve used this recipe before for Cashew Chicken Stir Fry aka one of my favorite meals ever. Cashews? Favorite nut. Chicken? I’d eat it every day. Veggies? LOAD EM UP! And stir fry? Super easy, quick, and scrumptious

I’m glad I found this recipe a few weeks back and replicated it tonight for my parents to try and enjoy. Now, I had to tweak it a bit to suit my needs, as it’s not a paleo recipe, but it was easy to make the substitutions and I think it was just as delicious as the original, I’m sure šŸ˜‰
I also add red pepper flakes to mine to kick up the flavor MMM spicy!

Image

Honestly. Just LOOK at those gorgeous colors and flavors going on! Yowza– gimme all of it!
Usually stir fry is done over rice, but 1. I don’t like rice and 2. I no longer eat rice. I prefer my stir fry over noodles (Italian girl, of course…) so I paired mine with spaghetti squash to get that noodle texture and satisfaction!

Image

Would you LOOK at that perfection? The grocery store only had one left in the store– and it was GIANT and cost over $6 but oh mama, it roasted beautifully and we’ll have leftovers for days!!

Needless to say, this recipe is a hit both personally and now with my parents! We all ate second helpings and have plenty of leftovers

Image

And even though I was full to bursting from all those veggies, I still had a little room (later) for an after dinner snack.
I’m a little “banana-ed out” after a while of eating them as my late night treat so tonight I went with apple dipping slices in almond butter, which I kicked up with some cinnamon and sea salt! Yum yum!

DSC_0375

2 thoughts on “Snowed In

  1. We got almost 3 feet of snow where I am. Also thankful for a 2 car garage… (your poor car!) Dinner looks good, I love cashews, but have yet to cook with them. Will have to try soon!

Leave a Reply

