Back in the kitchen

I feel like it’s been ages since I spent a solid amount of time in the kitchen cooking or baking…anything! Being out of town and then it being the holiday weekend, it seems like months when it’s really only been a few weeks since I’ve called the kitchen my domain

But this weekend I reclaimed my territory

Saturday was wildly productive! Not only did I knock out a 3 mile run (for the first time since November, I might add), but I also whipped up a new hybrid cookie recipe!
My boyfriend has been dying for me to bake him some treats and send them to him, but since he’s been working on cutting his sugar intake and I’ve been helping, we agreed I would make him either a clean eating cookie or a paleo one! Since going paleo, I haven’t made many cookies and the ones I have tried have been paleo and have been HUGE fails! Pre-paleo, I was the cookie queen and could basically wing it for any recipe to create something weird and scrumptious and new!
I managed to find a recipe that I adapted to make one of my best cookie creations yet…and it’s paleo(ish)

Image

 

I call these Daryn’s Trail Mix Cookies (now my boyfriend has a cookie named after him– lucky guy!)

For my base recipe, I found an awesome one over at tgipaleo.com

Image

 

To make my Trail Mix Cookies, I used this base recipe with Soy Nut Butter– they tasted JUST like peanut butter cookies, moist and chewy and “nutty!”
Yeah yeah, I know, the soy thing isn’t paleo, but shhh– you could use any nut butter and get a delicious cookie, I assure you!

My additions were as follows:

  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup chopped raw almonds– for crunch!
  • 1 serving prunes (about 7 prunes)
  • Milk chocolate chips (I used whatever we had in the pantry– this is the only non-paleo part, but honestly, the chips weren’t even necessary! I ate around them)

I adjusted my time to 12 minutes and baked on 350, which produced a perfectly browned and moist, chewy cookie
I KNOW I’ll be making these again– and keeping them for myself 😉

 

 

 

Today I whipped up a quick lunch after church. I’d had breakfast earlier, but Sundays always seem to make me crave breakfast food all day long…
So I threw together a quick brunch scramble using:

  • 2 eggs
  • Oven roasted thick carved turkey breast
  • Extra lean ham
  • A splash of almond breeze unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup of raw spinach
  • 1/3 of a tomato
  • And PLENTY of pepper, sea salt, adobo powder, chili powder, and crushed red peppers– I like everything with a KICK!

Image

And of course, a sliced pear on the side!

This weekend has been wildly productive, healthy, and fit. I feel incredible and am happy with everything in my life right now. Paleo power, y’all! Am I right???

Leave a Reply

