6 months

Today marks 6 months that I’ve been paleo! WOOHOO! *throws confetti and does jumping jacks*

This is an incredible point in my life and a cause for great celebration! 6 months ago I decided that I was going to focus on my fitness and overall health and I am so glad I took on the challenge. It had made me the happiest I’ve been in a long, long time

 

For those of you who don’t know much about my back story, I’ll briefly take this time to fill you in, as it pertains to my paleo and fitness journey

I have been battling an eating disorder for almost 5 years now. It’s a combination (EDNOS, as some call it– eating disorder not otherwise specified). At points I was anorexic, at points I was bulimic, and I have had a dangerous pattern of binge eating.
I’ve also dealt with all kinds of health issues in tandem– stomachaches, bloating, nausea, fatigue. These were all associated with my eating disorder and, consequently, how I dealt with it (which was not well)

I finally started to eat better and treat my body better by picking up an exercise routine and slowly trying to eat better.
However, it wasn’t until I officially decided to go paleo in tandem with doing p90x that things really changed and I saw massive improvements in my health and daily life!

 

Today, these are the things I owe to my personal dedication to my health and wellness over the past 6 months:

  • I have dropped 14 pounds
  • I rarely ever have stomach issues due to eating (and if I do, they’re nowhere near where I was for the past 5 years…)
  • I have gotten physically strong, fit, toned, and lean and can do things I never believed possible
  • I have reevaluated my relationship with food; this is probably my biggest feat. I no longer see food as the enemy, or feel that I need to exercise like a maniac to “punish” my body for eating. Rather, I enjoy eating and find joy in cooking and experimenting with new recipes and introducing myself to new and healthy food
  • I eat foods I never did before and never thought I would! The amount of healthy food I eat now astounds me and has made me reflect on my past eating habits and I am happy to be where I am now
  • I have discipline, strength, and good habits that will stick with me 
  • Above all else, I feel incredible and love the way I look and feel and am proud and glad that I decided to commit to my health and fitness

While I’m still in recovery (and probably always will be— eating disorders are always a battle and I accept that I realistically will be battling it a long time) and have my days that I sometimes get discouraged or frustrated, these last 6 months have changed my life and I hope to continue to enjoy this new lifestyle I’ve chosen to lead

And I want to thank everyone who supported me throughout this entire journey and those who will continue to support me! And all of you who have been with me the past few months through my blogging journey documenting my progress and recovery, thanks and I hope you stick around! 🙂

Leave a Reply

