Recipes, Reviews, and Thoughts

Now that I’m slowly squeaking my way back into this little blogging niche, I’m getting increasingly more excited to utilize my blog in more ways and expand what I do here

I’ve recently signed up for a bunch of sites that will allow me to test and review products so I figured resurrecting my blog was a great outlet for that so if that interests you, stay tuned!
I’ll be reviewing products from Influenster and RocksBox and then other various test products that come my way over time

I’ve been an Influenster user/tester for a couple of years now and I don’t always (I admit) review and fully respond with the amount of feedback I probably should, but I’ve had great success with many of the products I’ve received from them. I especially love and utilize on a regular basis the Jax shaker bottle I received a while back– I use it weekly for my post-workout chocolate milk and sometimes for making homemade lemonade or just as a quick water bottle. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for this vox box! I’ll be reviewing the #frescavoxbox when I receive it next week, which will include items such as lotions, makeup, and shave cream! I’m especially excited about this one because I didn’t bring many of those types of products with me out to the midwest for my trip this summer and am trying to avoid spending too much money buying items now that I’m here…perfect timing!

ANYWHOOOOO

While I’m waiting on those things, I thought I would post a recipe that I previously posted on Instagram a few weeks ago

I was playing around with finding a way to enjoy and utilize tahini since I had a jar just collecting dust on the shelf and I’m mildly sensitive to nuts and dislike avocado (I KNOW I KNOW CRAZY I KNOW) so I’ve been working on incorporating more healthy fats into my diet that are nut-free!
I also tried a new Mediterranean/ethnic place near me (check out River’s Edge Bistro in Unionville, CT if you’re anywhere near the Hartford, CT region!) with my parents and not only was the food delicious and made from scratch in house by an Egyptian couple, but I ordered a side of tahini dressing and asked the owner what was in it– he made it himself and could detail every clean ingredient in it for me. I tried it…and then I licked the plate clean. And then two weeks later I came back for more and ordered extra and licked that clean too heheh

So I knew I needed to recreate the incredible, fresh, authentic flavor of this chef’s tahini and after spending some time scouring what was already out there and consulting other bloggers for ideas (see Mel Joulwan’s magical tahini dressing), I decided to try my hand at making my own creation! And with my own “secret ingredient” to boot

The following is my take on a tahini dip/spread. It came out more the consistency of a “whip” thus I dubbed it “Tahini Whip!” Hope you enjoy! Not that these things matter, but…it’s one of my most popular instagram posts if that sways you in any way  😉

Like I said: I posted this recipe originally exclusively on IG, but now I'm sharing it here!

Like I said: I posted this recipe originally exclusively on IG, but now I’m sharing it here!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup tahini
1/4 cup water (adjust consistency as you go to your liking- I wanted mine a creamy whipped dip-like consistency but not too thin and liquid like a dressing)
2 tsp minced garlic (or sub fresh garlic cloves)
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp lemon juice
Dash or two of red pepper flakes (I like mine with a kick- can omit)
A generous splash of the liquid from a can of artichoke hearts- the best part, I promise!!! (This gives the dip a zingy, acidic undertone that I just love)

Instructions:

1. Combine all ingredients in blender, adjusting taste and texture as you go to reach desired consistency
2. Eat. On. Everything! Seriously. Chicken, raw veggies, zoodles, sweet potato, off the spoon….enjoy!
3. Store in sealed container in fridge (if it lasts that long) 😋😏
Depending on how much you consider a “serving” this makes about 8.

BONUS: this dip is not only paleo, but also gluten free, dairy free, grain free, VEGAN, and raw!

I’ll be back, hopefully more regularly, with tidbits about my life and what I’m doing/eating, maybe some more original recipes or at least reviews of recipes I’ve tried (like these chocolate donuts from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen I made yesterday that ROCKED and are 100% boyfriend approved!), and eventually some fun product reviews

Thanks for reading- hope to see you again!

-Steph

Chocolate Donuts from yesterday (subbed banana for applesauce and sunflower seeds for almond flour- perfect consistency and the closest to a chocolate donut I’ll ever get following paleo!)

Chocolate Donuts I made from LCK

Chocolate Donuts I made from LCK

Leave a Reply

