2015 Reads + Summer Reads: Part I

summer reads header for blog

I think I’m getting the hang of this blogging thing again…so of course I’m posting A LOT. Maybe I’ll get tired of this again soon…but for now I have all the time in the world so for now…I BLOG

Generally, I’m a quick reader and I love tearing through books at a good pace if they’re interesting. Plus, the faster I read, the more books I can get to!

So far in 2015, I’ve flown through more books than I had expected. With the way my schedule was this semester, in comparison to other, busier semesters, I was able to read for pleasure on a regular basis on top of my school readings and it was a nice, relaxing hobby to break up the routine of school and working in schools.
Each year I set a GoodReads goal for the year as a whole. Last year I surpassed my goal by quite a few and this year, as of April, I had already surpassed my 25 book goal for 2015!

Today I’m sharing…

  • what I’ve read so far this year
  • which books I’ve loved
  • which books didn’t really do it for me
  • authors and genres I’m into right now
  • what I’m currently reading
  • what’s up next on my to-read list!

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 2.07.09 PM Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 2.07.21 PM

Here’s an overview of everything I’ve read so far in 2015: including books for pleasure, a few for school, and some I read to my students in my classrooms at work

Generally, I enjoyed most of what I have read.
A few were just okay and just didn’t move me like I had wanted them to (Maybe I Will, Reunion, The Given World)
Some were plain odd and therefore I couldn’t fully say I “liked” (The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, Through the Woods)
Others were quite enjoyable, but not enough so for me to be shouting from the heavens to recommend them or discuss them with everyone I meet (Silver Bay, Rebels By Accident, Lions of Little Rock)

My favorites as of lately are as follows:

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 1.47.07 PM

I ADORED this book! It was the perfect balance of wit, wonder, and heart-wrenching emotion. I’m really into JoJo Moyes right now and I’m reading through most of her catalogue

This book captured me in an unexpected way. Fans of Khaled Hosseini, like myself, will devour this. Music, war, love, and heartbreak intertwine to paint a dark, haunting romance with historical ties

This book captured me in an unexpected way. Fans of Khaled Hosseini, like myself, will devour this. Music, war, love, and heartbreak intertwine to paint a dark, haunting romance with historical ties

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 2.17.52 PM

While I have not done a Whole30 myself for personal reasons, I am a huge supporter of tackling why our bodies react to foods how they do, learning about the science behind certain foods and our bodies, and breaking former habits in favor of healthier lifestyle choices. This book is super informative about food and how our bodies process it (as was its predecessor It Starts With Food that I read earlier this year), but this book has the added bonus of TONS of kitchen tips and tricks (I learned a TON) and a slew of great recipes that are worth checking out alone even without all the great information This was the first cookbook I ever read cover to cover and, as a lifetime learner out to always absorb information, this was a great resource for my lifestyle

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 2.01.43 PM

This book was incredible! It was easy, funny, sweet, endearing, and I recommend it for all humans. It was a refreshing young adult style read, but full of great worldly advice and one of my favorite books to date Please read this and then recommend it to everyone in your life

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 2.25.40 PM

The most surprising book I’ve read lately, I DEVOURED this in 2 days. I had heard great things, but knew nothing about it. I thought it was about a circus, honestly, by looking at the cover quickly I swiftly learned it was not going to be anything like I had expected, yet I couldn’t put it down! It’s strange and haunting and honestly a bit terrifying at times, but it was such an incredible read!

  • The D.U.F.F. was also an enjoyable read. I can’t wait to see the movie now (although I know it’ll probably be a cheesy, knockoff that doesn’t do the book justice, but hey, I won’t know until I try!)
  • I just finished “We Were Liars” which I had heard a lot of good things about. I whipped through it and it was pretty good throughout, I felt like I kept waiting…and then BOOM, when the big twist was finally revealed, my mouth quite literally fell open and I raced to finish. I recommend this one. And it’s short and a perfect summery read

Up next for me is Jojo Moyes’ One Plus One, Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch, Junot Diaz’s This Is How You Lose Her, and Sara Gruen’s Ape House.
I’m also planning to read my first Stephen King novel this summer (scary- not necessarily like spooky scary, moreso scary because it’s new territory for me! But D loves King and I asked him to recommend one I might like so I’ll be trying probably Doctor Sleep some time next month!)

I’ve been into trying new things lately so I’m branching out to new authors and genres. I had a stint with Dean Koontz and science fiction earlier this month and I’ve made it a point to generally begin reading more female authors and more international authors. Like I mentioned above, I’m liking Jojo Moyes lately and am working my way through some of her books

What are you reading? What’s on your list? What do you recommend for me? Have you read any of these? What were your thoughts??? Let’s chat!

Leave a Reply

